Franz Schubert

Piano Quintet in A major, D 667 (Op. 114) "The Trout"

1. Allegro vivace

2. Andante

3. Scherzo (Presto)

4. Thema mit Variationen (Andantino)

5. Finale (Allegro giusto)

Fantasie in C major, D 760 (Op. 15) "Wanderer" (revised Badura-Skoda)

6. Allegro con fuoco ma non troppo

7. Adagio

8. Presto

9. Allegro

Sviatoslav Richter & Borodin Quartet - Schubert: Quintet in a Major "The Trout"

Hybrid-SACD - ESSW-90293 - MSRP €79.00

Franz Schubert's "Trout" is well known to classical music listeners. The poem, set to music by Christian Schubart, was a great success at the time of its composition in 1817, prompting the Austrian composer to write the 'Trout Quintet' as a sequel.

On this recording, pianist Sviatoslav Richter performs the 'Trout' and the 'Wanderer Fantasy', supported by the strings of the 'Borodin' Quartet. The recordings were made in Austria and Paris in 1980 and 1963 respectively.

We recommend the use of "L'Art du Son" CD/DVD conditioner for even more sonic improvement.